The Elliot Potter Show

No longer in production
  • Hosted by

Discover your new favorite band on The Elliot Potter Show.

It's new music, old favorites, and unknown gems excavated from the far corners of the world ... and it's definitely not what you expect. 

Album Review: The Uncluded's Hokey Fright

May 15, 2013
Rhymesayers Entertainment

Kimya Dawson is a quirky lo-fi folk singer and Aesop Rock is a dexterous and dense rapper. The two have collaborated before, but Hokey Fright is their first full length album together.

This pairing makes sense because these two artists each have a conversational wisdom in their work. There’s a positivity to what they do: despite the heaviness of topics such as death, and not just the concept of death, but specific and personal examples involving someone one’s own age.

Album Review: Young Galaxy's Ultramarine

Apr 25, 2013
Paper Bag Records

The early songs of Young Galaxy are slow-burners, lots of feedback and echo and space. But even then, they’ve always sounded like they secretly wanted to accompany the end credits of a John Hughes teen drama. To be the poignant punctuation to some grand statement about something that a lot of adults go on to realize wasn’t so grand after all. The great achievement of a good pop song is that it can say in three and a half minutes what might take 90 minutes in a film.

NPR Music Presents: Dave Grohl At SXSW

Mar 13, 2013
Matt Sayles

Dave Grohl has become the unofficial Mayor of Rock 'n' Roll: a gregarious ambassador who wins armloads of Grammys and even directed a music documentary. Live on March 14, NPR Music will stream and broadcast Grohl's keynote address at the SXSW Music Festival in Austin, Texas, starting at 11:00 local time, here.

NPR Music Presents: SXSW 2013

Mar 13, 2013
dan martensen

In what's become one of the most anticipated showcases at the South by Southwest Music and Media Conference, NPR Music and partner public radio stations present a can't-miss night of performances, March 13 at Stubb's. The official showcase will be available on air, online and on mobile to audiences worldwide, and on a live video stream here at The lineup features Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Cafe Tacvba, Alt-J, Youth Lagoon, Waxahatchee and Le1f.